There's a growing concern among health conscious eaters and drinkers today about gluten. While gluten is part of a healthy diet for most, there are some for whom gluten can be debilitating and cause digestive system responses similar to those associated with lactose intolerance. For others, those with celiac disease, gluten can be downright deadly and cause severely harmful autoimmune responses. If you fit into one of these categories, and need to be careful about what you eat and drink, then mead may be the beverage option for you. And what an amazing option it is! While it may seem confining to be restricted to certain beverage categories due to medical conditions or dietary sensitivities, mead is such a versatile beverage capable of many diverse styles of products. Chances are that if you decide to explore mead as an alternative beverage option you will realize that you've just opened the door to a world of exciting and new drink possibilities. Mead is an adventure that can last a lifetime. At Blisspoint we can say that 100% of our mead products are 100% gluten free! Honey is naturally gluten free, as are the fruits we use to flavor our meads. The wine yeasts we use are also naturally gluten free, but this is an area where you need to be cautious. Some brewer’s yeasts come suspended in a barley malt based nutrient liquid that helps promote healthy yeast growth and fermentations. While the yeast itself is not a source of gluten, the barley malt used in the liquid suspension is. This may contribute an extremely small amount of gluten to some products on the market, but at Blisspoint this is not a style of yeast that we use. It always pays to ask if this is something you are concerned about.